Raising awareness of depression and suicide

I was lucky enough to have a piece in the local paper today about my charity campaign Please have a read.

http://www.ipswichstar.co.uk/news/musician_and_ipswich_borough_councillor_andi_hopgood_targets_2_000_for_mental_health_charities_with_head_shave_1_4099289

On my birthday August 1st this year I’m shaving my head, that’s all my hair going in one go. I’m doing it for two reasons.
Firstly to raise money for two great charities SANE the mental health charity http://www.sane.org.uk and survivors of bereavement through suicide http://uk-sobs.org.uk I’m aiming to raise £2000 in total and I’m currently around 50% of the way there.

Secondly to raise awareness of depression, mental health and suicide. I’m trying to be open about my personal experiences of depression in the hope of starting to break the stigma. We need to normalise talking about mental health, illness and suicide. Because mental health can be life threatening, it’s a serious illness. 

We all have mental health good bad or indifferent, and we need to understand that I’ll mental health is one of the MOST common illnesses. One in 4 of us will experience Ill mental health, yet we don’t want to talk about it. 

So don’t be ashamed, talk about your experiences it can help us all. Both to understand each other better, but also in the bigger fight to break the stigma around mental health. 

Be a part of this!

Donate here…..

www.justgiving.com/andihoppy
www.justgiving.com/andihopgood

Leave a Reply

